Tsedaka Box

Tzedaka Box

Stainless Steel, Brass

Giving Charity in Judaism

Maimonides, often called by his acronym RaMBaM (Rabbi Moshe Ben Maimon), was a 12th century Jewish scholar and physician. Rambam wrote a code of Jewish law, the Mishnah Torah, based on the Rabbinic oral tradition.

Rambam organized the different levels of tzedakah (charity) into a list from the least to the most honorable.

Level Eight: Giving tzedaka grudgingly, with a sour countenance.
Level Seven: Giving willingly, but inadequately.
Level Six: Giving adequately after being asked.
Level Five: Giving tzedakah before being asked.
Level Four: Giving tzedakah publicly to an unknown recipient.
Level Three: Giving tzedakah anonymously to a known recipient.
Level Two: Giving anonymously, where the recipient does not know the giver and vice versa.
Level One: Helping someone become self-sufficient.